Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Congratulations, scholarship winners!

A number of our majors have been selected to receive scholarships in recognition of their academic achievements, and academic potential. Congratulations!

The Elizabeth George Ivers Endowed Scholarship for Women

This scholarship, created by our distinguished alumna Elizabeth George Ivers, recognizes high-achieving students with a record of academic success who are engaged in the community. This year's recipients are Madeleine Ruger (sophomore, History) and Gabrielle Sinnott (junior, History & Political Science). Earlier this semester, Gabrielle also received a Benjamin Gilman International scholarship to study abroad in Thailand this summer (read more here).

Madeleine Ruger

Gabrielle Sinnott

Ruth Stratton Scholarship

The Ruth Stratton Scholarship is an endowed scholarship named in honor of Daemen Political Science professor Dr. Ruth Stratton. This scholarship is awarded yearly to an outstanding sophomore or junior major who excels academically. This year's recipient, Megan Racinowski (sophomore, Political Science), intends to pursue a career combining environmental advocacy and law, two areas of Dr. Stratton's deep interest and expertise.

Megan Racinowski

Career Services scholarship

Two of our majors, Annamarie Diapaul (junior, Political Science), and Megan Racinowski (sophomore, Political Science) have been awarded Career Services scholarships to support internships this summer. This is Megan's second internship (read about her internship in Washington, D.C., with US Senator Tom Carper (Delaware).

Annamarie Diapaul
Megan Racinowski

SOS Women's Leadership Award

The SOS Women's Leadership Award, sponsored by the Daemen College Eaglettes (women's faculty organization), is named for three legendary female Daemen professors: Dr. Ruth Stratton, Dr. Betty O'Neill, and Dr. Kaye Sullivan. This college-wide award recognizes two female students each year who have demonstrated outstanding leadership. This year, one of the recipients was graduating senior Brianna Zichettella (Political Science). In addition to her excellent academic record, Brianna was former president of the American Association of University Women (AAWU) Student Organization and wrote a number of articles for Daemen's student newspaper and literary magazine.

Brianna Zichettella

AAUW Chamberlin Award

The Chamberlin grant/loan program, operated by the American Association of University Women (AAUW)'s Buffalo Chapter, provides grants and interest free loans to students who are selected through a competitive application process. Taqiyah Gibbons (graduating senior, History) was among this year's recipients. She will use the award to pay for her Study-Abroad trip to Africa this summer. (Read more here)   

Taqiyah Gibbons

Congratulations to all of our scholarship winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment